## INTERMUNICIPAL AGREEMENT FOR METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

The Cities of La Crosse and Onalaska, the Villages of Holmen and West Salem, and the Towns of Campbell, Medary, Onalaska, and Shelby, municipal corporations within the County of La Crosse and State of Wisconsin, and the City of La Crescent, a municipal corporation within the County of Houston and State of Minnesota (called communities), in consideration of this exchange of covenants and the mutual benefits to be derived from this joint undertaking, hereby agree with each other and each with the group to jointly cooperate, participate, and share the cost of metropolitan planning for the development and maintenance of a long-range transportation plan pursuant to Federal Regulations and rules found in 23 CFR 450 and 49 CFR pertaining to metropolitan planning.

The objective of this Committee shall be to develop and maintain a long-range transportation plan for the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized Area, and to conduct other area-wide planning as it deems necessary. The type of research to be undertaken, the type of plans to be prepared, the method of conducting the metropolitan planning and the cost of such planning shall be as determined from time to time by the MPO and subject to the approval of the MPO.

It is understood that the communities will share the local cost of such metropolitan planning on the basis of the relationship of each community's equalized valuation to the total equalized valuation of all participating communities at the time each specific Planning Work Program, as required by federal regulations, is developed and approved by the MPO.

The communities understand that participating in the MPO will entail meetings, analysis of reports, giving advice and counsel to the persons employed to carry out the MPO planning duties, appointment of special committees, the signing of necessary documents, the appropriation of funds, meeting time schedules, cooperation with State or Federal agencies and all the communities participating in MPO planning, public hearings and a real effort to place the resulting and suitable legislation from this planning into the laws of the communities, and said communities so agree.

In order to coordinate this planning among the participating communities, there is hereby created the La Crosse Area Planning Committee (LAPC) composed of one representative from each participating community which will act as and perform the duties of a Metropolitan Planning Organization for the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized Area, hereafter referred to as the MPO, and charged with carrying out the transportation planning functions for the urbanized area and preparing cooperative transportation planning recommendations to the communities. Each participating community shall have one (1) vote on this Committee. The La Crosse County Board of Supervisors also shall have one (1) vote on this Committee. The La Crosse Area Planning Committee will have only Committee powers.

To further coordinate the metropolitan planning, the County of La Crosse agrees to employ all necessary staff to carry out the duties of the MPO, provide administrative support to the MPO and provide physical facilities to house the MPO. The County of La Crosse shall be reimbursed by the MPO for all cost incurred in providing staff, administrative support and physical facilities to the MPO. Representatives of the MPO shall assist the county with hiring, evaluation, disciplinary action, and salary review of all employees performing MPO duties.

Each participating Community will be invoiced for its individual share of the Planning Work Program (PWP) during the first quarter of each program year.

This agreement will become effective on the date approved by all participating communities and shall be effective until January 1, 2007 and shall be automatically renewable for three (3) year periods thereafter unless one or more of the communities gives notice in writing that it objects to the continuation of this agreement at least one (1) year before the expiration date of this agreement.

TOWN OF CAMPBELL	VILLAGE OF WEST SALEM	
Daniel Kapanke, Chalyman Date	J. Terry Hanson, President	1/21/04 Date
TOWN OF MEDARY  Wayne Lemar, Chairman Date	CITY OF LA CRESCENT Mike Poellinger, Mayor	12/19/63 Date
TOWN OF ONALASKA?  Nave Gramling, Chairman  Date	John Medinger, Mayor	12/17/0 3 Date
James Bialecki, Mayor Date	VILLAGE OF HOLMEN  John Chapman, President	12/17/03 Date
John Storlie, Chairman Date	Steve Doyle, Chairman	/2~17~07 Date