INTERMUNICIPAL AGREEMENT FOR METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

The La Crosse Area Planning Committee (LAPC) exists as a designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) pursuant to the rules under 23 CFR 450 and 49 CFR for the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized area and operates under an agreement by and between the following Wisconsin municipalities - the Cities of La Crosse and Onalaska, the Villages of Holmen and West Salem and the Towns of Campbell, Medary, Onalaska and Shelby and the following Minnesota municipality – City of La Crescent (hereinafter referred to as 'the Communities').

The most recent written agreement was signed in 2003 and has automatically renewed since that time. The following agreement clarifies the roles of the Communities and does not make any change to the Community members, the proportion of voting members, the decision-making process or the decision-making authority of the Communities.

In consideration of this exchange of covenants and the mutual benefits to be derived from this joint undertaking, the Communities agree with each other and each with the group to jointly cooperate, participate, and share the cost of metropolitan planning for the development and maintenance of a long-range transportation plan for the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized Area and to conduct other area-wide planning as it deems necessary.

In order to coordinate this planning among the participating communities, the Communities will convene as necessary and meet as the La Crosse Area Planning Committee (LAPC). The LAPC shall be composed of one representative from each participating community. Each participating community shall have one (1) vote on this Committee. The La Crosse County Board of Supervisors shall also have one (1) vote on this Committee.

The Communities will meet regularly and operate under the bylaws established by the LAPC. Community representatives understand that serving on the LAPC will entail regular attendance at meetings; analysis of reports; appointments to special committees; the signing of necessary documents; the appropriation of funds as set forth below; and participation in public hearings as required. Further the communities agree to ensure that all provision of state and federal laws pertaining to regional transportation planning are implemented and to make a real and concerted effort to place any legislation resulting from this planning process into the laws of their respective community as expediently as possible.

The County of La Crosse agrees to employ all necessary staff to carry out the duties of the LAPC/MPO; to provide administrative support to the LAPC/MPO and to provide physical facilities for LAPC/MPO meetings and staff. LAPC/MPO employees will be supervised by the County Administrator or designee and will be subject to all County employee policies and rules. The County of La Crosse shall be reimbursed by the Communities for all cost incurred in providing staff, administrative supplies and physical facilities to the MPO. Community representatives of the MPO shall assist the County with hiring, evaluation and salary review of all employees performing MPO duties. La Crosse County Corporation Counsel will provide legal

advice and counsel to the LAPC as necessary.

It is understood that the communities will share the local cost of such metropolitan planning on the basis of the relationship of each community's equalized valuation to the total equalized valuation of all participating communities at the time each specific Unified Planning Work Program, as required by federal regulations, is developed and approved by the MPO. Each participating Community will be invoiced for its individual share of the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) during the first quarter of each program year.

This agreement will become on the date approved by all participating communities and be effective until January 1, 2023 and shall be automatically renewable for three (3) year periods thereafter unless one or more of the communities gives notice in writing that it objects to the continuation of this agreement at least one (1) year before the expiration date of this agreement.

Terry Schaller, Chair	date	Dennis Manthei, President	date
TOWN OF MEDARY		CITY OF LA CRESCENT	
Linda Seidel, Chair	date	Mike Poellinger, Mayor	date
TOWN OF ONALASKA		CITY OF LA CROSSE	
Roger Bogert, Chair	date	Tim Kabat, Mayor	date
CITY OF ONALASKA		VILLAGE OF HOLMEN	
Joe Chilsen, Mayor	date	Nancy Proctor, President	date
TOWN OF SHELBY	unt	COUNTY OF LA CROSSE	uute
Tim Candahl, Chair	date	Tara Johnson, Chair	date

TOWN OF CAMPBELL

VILLAGE OF WEST SALEM