Resolution Opposing the City of La Crosse's Inclusion in a Metropolitan Sewerage District.

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the City of La Crosse owns, operates and maintains a wastewater treatment and collection system to provide wastewater service to its residents; and

WHEREAS, the City of La Crosse has contracted to provide wastewater treatment services to the City of Onalaska, the Town of Campbell, Town of Shelby Sanitary District No. 2 and the City of La Crescent, MN; and

WHEREAS, on December 11, 2018, the City of Onalaska adopted Resolution 30-2018 proposing the creation of a metropolitan sewerage district pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 200.05, which would encompass the territories of the City of La Crosse, the City of Onalaska, the Town of Shelby, the Town of Campbell and the City of La Crescent, MN, and which would manage the existing wastewater facilities within those territories including La Crosse's Isle La Plume wastewater treatment facility; and

WHEREAS, Wis. Stat. § 200.05(5) provides that no territory of a city, village or town jointly or separately owning or operating a sewerage collection and disposal system may be included in a proposed metropolitan sewerage district unless the governing body of the city, village or town by resolution consents to inclusion of such territory within the proposed district; and

WHEREAS, it is in the best interests of the City of La Crosse and its residents for La Crosse to maintain ownership, management and control of its wastewater treatment and collection system, and not transfer control of such facilities to a regional entity.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the La Crosse that the governing body of the City of La Crosse expresses its opposition and objection to the City of La Crosse's inclusion in the metropolitan sewerage district proposed by Onalaska Resolution 30-2018.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the governing body of the City of La Crosse does not consent to the inclusion of City of La Crosse territory within the proposed metropolitan sewerage district or the transfer of ownership, management, or control of the City of La Crosse's wastewater facilities, including the Isle La Plume wastewater treatment facility, to the proposed metropolitan sewerage district.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the governing body of the City of La Crosse does not consent to the assignment of the City's wastewater treatment services contracts with the City of Onalaska, the Town of Campbell, Town of Shelby Sanitary District No. 2 and the City of La Crescent, MN, to the proposed metropolitan sewerage district.

*I, Teri Lehrke, certify that this resolution was duly and officially adopted by the Common Council of the City of La Crosse on July 11, 2019.* 

Jeri Lehrke

*Teri Lehrke, City Clerk City of La Crosse, Wisconsin*