17-0589

Resolution amending Council Rule V and XXIV to delete the position of Secretary for each standing committee and create a paid staff position of Council Attendant – Standing Committees.

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Resolution #14-1111 amended Council Rule V with the creation of the position of Secretary for each standing committee, and

WHEREAS, the performance of these duties by the Council Member inhibits their ability to become fully engaged in the legislative discussion, and

WHEREAS, it is the desire of the Mayor and Council President to reinstate the paid position of Council Attendant-Standing Committees.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of La Crosse that it hereby amends paragraph (a) and (b) of Council Rule V – Committees to read as follows:

- (a) Following each organization meeting of the Common Council on the third Tuesday in April and no later than within ten (10) days thereof, the President of the Common Council shall appoint the standing committees of the Council and each committee shall elect a Chair, and Vice Chair and Secretary. The Council President shall further be responsible for appointing eight (8) members to one standing committee and nine (9) members to one standing committees. Once Council Members have been appointed to a standing committee during the regular two-year session, a Council Member may voluntarily agree to be reappointed to another standing Committee if the Council President approves of said reappointment. Effective April, 2017, the Council President shall appoint seven (7) members to one standing committee and six (6) to the other standing committee.
- (b) The committees to be appointed in accordance with this rule shall include the following standing committees: Finance and Personnel and Judiciary and Administration. Unless there is a vacancy on the Council, the Council Member who is elected President of the Council shall appoint himself/herself a member of one of the standing committees and shall vote thereon. The Council president may, should there be a vacancy on the Council, appoint himself/herself to a standing committee to fill a vacancy on such committee or delay his or her appointment to a standing committee until the vacancy is filled. Immediately after appointment of the committees, the members of each committee shall meet and elect its officers. The Chair shall preside at all subsequent meetings of the committee and in his/her absence, the Vice-Chair shall preside. The Secretary Council Attendant Standing Committees shall record all votes taken by the committee on matters referred to it and the City Clerk shall keep a permanent record of such votes.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Council Rule XXIV - Officers of the Common Council is amended as follows:

The officers of the Common Council include: (a) Mayor, (b) Council President, (c) Chairperson of Judiciary and Administration Committee, (d) Chairperson of the Finance and Personnel Committee, (3) Council member appointed to the Executive Committee; (f) Vice Chair of Judiciary and Administration Committee, and (g) Vice Chair of Finance and Personnel Committee, (h) Secretary of Judiciary and Administration—Committee, and (i) Secretary of Finance and Personnel Committee. In accordance with Wis. Stats. 19.88(1) these officers may be chosen by secret ballot.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that effective August 1, 2017 one (1) part-time position of Council Attendant – Standing Committees be added to the table of organization of the Common Council budget, to be paid a monthly rate of \$140.00.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Resolution #14-1111 is hereby rescinded.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Director of Finance and the Director of Human Resources are hereby authorized to take any and all steps necessary to effectuate this resolution.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that there is appropriated the sum of \$700.00 from the contingent fund for the balance of 2017.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that future funding shall be placed in future Common Council operating budgets.

I, Teri Lehrke, certify that this resolution was duly and officially adopted by the Common Council of the City of La Crosse on June 8, 2017.

Teri Lehrke, City Clerk

City of La Crosse, Wisconsin