ORDINANCE NO.:	

AN ORDINANCE to amend and renumber Section 2-520 of the Code of Ordinances of the City of La Crosse regarding membership of the Municipal Transit Utility Board.

THE COMMON COUNCIL of the City of La Crosse do ordain as follows:

SECTION I: Section 2-520 is hereby amended and renumbered to read as follows:

Sec. 2-520. – Membership.

The Municipal Transit Utility Board shall consist of the following members:

- (1) The Board of Public Works, as defined in division 3 of this article, as amended or superseded;
- (2) (1) Two (2) unpaid citizen residents of the City of La Crosse, preferably persons who regularly utilize or ride the Municipal Transit Utility buses, who shall be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council for a term of two years.
- (3) (2) One (1) resident or nonresident La Crosse County Board Supervisor, who shall be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council for a term of two years or until the end of an elected term on the County Board, whichever is earlier.
- (4) (3) An One (1) unpaid student representative from each one of the City's three institutions of higher education, which currently consist of three institutions, said student representatives shall serve for a terms of one year each beginning on June October 1 of each year. The Mayor shall appoint the student representative on a rotating basis from each of the three institutions of higher education subject to confirmation by the Council. The student government of each institution shall submit its recommendation of a single candidate for appointment, if any, to the City. no later than May 1 immediately preceding the commencement of the student representative's term for review by the Council prior to final confirmation.
- (5) (4) The Mayors of the cities of Onalaska, Wisconsin, and La Crescent, Minnesota or his/her designee, and the Chairperson of the Town of Campbell, Wisconsin, or his/her designee as voting members; provided, such communities continue to have fixed route service. Said members in this subsection need not be residents of the City of La Crosse.
- (5) The Mayor of the City of La Crosse or his/her designee.
- (6) One (1) Council Member representative from the Board of Public Works.
- (6) Other communities or municipalities that have a contract with the La Crosse Municipal Transit Utility and receive service from the Transit Utility may appoint an unpaid additional nonvoting member to the Municipal Transit Utility Board who may be a member of the governing body of such other community or a citizen of such other community. The term of such other community nonvoting member shall be for two years unless such other community service contract with the La Crosse Municipal Transit Utility terminates and is not renewed within any two-year term.

SECTION II: Should any portion of this ordinance be declared unconstitutional or invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remainder of this division shall not be affected.

SECTION III: This ordinance shand publication.	all take effect and be in force from and after its passage
	Timothy Kabat, Mayor
	Teri Lehrke, City Clerk
Passed:	
Approved:	
Published:	