STORM WATER MANAGEMENT PUBLIC EDUCATION AND OUTREACH COOPERATIVE AGREEMENT

This Agreement is entered into pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 66.0301 to specify those certain responsibilities of the parties hereto in the implementation of an intergovernmental storm water public education and outreach program during the term of this Agreement.

I. PARTIES

This Agreement is between La Crosse County, City of La Crosse, City of Onalaska, City of La Crescent, Village of Holmen, Village of West Salem, Town of Campbell, Town of Onalaska, Town of Shelby and Town of Holland, herein referred to as the La Crosse County Urban Storm Water Group.

II. TERM OF AGREEMENT

This Agreement shall commence on January 1st, 2023, and continue through December 31st, 2026. This Agreement may be terminated by any party on thirty (30) days written notice to the group, subject only to the payment of any obligations due to the group under this Agreement up to the point of said termination.

III. PURPOSE OF AGREEMENT

The purpose of this Agreement is to continue implementation of the single source information and outreach program for all participating municipalities meeting the requirements of Wis. Admin. Code Section § NR 216.07 to increase awareness of storm water impacts on waters of the state while avoiding duplication of efforts and saving costs.

The parties to this Agreement may seek to improve the quality of local storm water management programs by mutually agreeing to contract for services that would evaluate institutional arrangements for long-term program delivery and develop marketing and/or educational materials on storm water impacts on waters of the state to residents of La Crosse County. The Agreement allows the parties to share resources and work together on a program that meets permit requirements of Wis. Admin. Code § NR 216.07.

IV. PROGRAM SUMMARY

The activities required to complete this project include but are not limited to the following.

- A. Maintain and update existing La Crosse Waters website
- B. Build awareness of nonpoint source pollution and its effects
- C. Expand outreach platforms through social media, new releases, email campaigns, and website
- D. Provide information directly to La Crosse County residents to influence changes in the behavior and encourage best practices for storm water management.
- E. Soak it up award. Promote exceptional stormwater projects throughout the county
- F. Expand La Crosse Area Waters metro-wide signage system
- G. Building public/private partnerships to assist in the coordination of stormwater public education.

V. SCOPE OF SERVICES

- A. La Crosse County Urban Storm Water Group agrees to the following:
 - 1. Continue to implement and provide public education and outreach programs for storm water management that comply with Wis. Admin. Code § NR 216.07.
 - 2. Host and facilitate all La Crosse Urban Stormwater Group meetings on an as-needed basis
 - 3. Advertise for, award and execute all associated subcontractor billings, and pass these costs equitably to all participating municipalities based on the population distribution listed below.

Municipality	Population	% Pop.	2023-2026 Annual Commitment
T. of Campbell	4284	4%	\$1,250
T. of Holland	4528	4%	\$1,321
T. of Onalaska	5809	5%	\$1,695
T. of Shelby	4804	4%	\$1,402
V. of Holmen	10683	10%	\$3,117
V. of West Salem	5277	5%	\$1,540
C. of Onalaska	18829	17%	\$5,494
C. of La Crosse	52680	47%	\$15,372
C. of La Crescent	4830	4%	\$1,409
La Crosse County			\$5,000
	111724		\$37,600

Note – Population amounts based on County Block Populations (March 2022)

4. Cooperate with all participating La Crosse County Urban Storm Water Group municipal members to sponsor and conduct specific activities as contributing components of a storm water management public education and outreach program, to be implemented during the term of this Agreement.

VI. NOTICES

Notices required or deemed advisable under this Agreement shall be placed in writing and delivered personally or by registered or certified mail to La Crosse County at:

Matt Hanewall, Director, Land Conservation
212 N 6th St, La Crosse WI 54601

VII. MUTUAL INDEMNIFICATION

The parties agree to fully indemnify and hold all other La Crosse County Urban Storm Water Group members harmless from and against all claims, actions, judgments, costs, and expenses, arising out of damages or injuries to third persons or their property, caused by the fault or negligence of the said party, its agents, or employees, in the performance of this Agreement. The parties shall give to each other prompt and reasonable notice of any such claims or actions and the other party shall have the right to investigate, compromise, and defend the same. This provision shall not waive municipality's limitations of liabilities.

VIII. WAIVER OF BREACHES

No waiver of any breaches of this Agreement shall be held to be a waiver of any other or any subsequent breaches. All remedies afforded in this Agreement shall be considered to be cumulative and in addition to any other remedies provided by law.

IX. APPLICABLE LAW

This Agreement shall be governed by the State of Wisconsin. Venue for any dispute hereunder shall be in La Crosse County Circuit Court.

X SECTION HEADINGS

The headings of the several sections, and any table of contents appended hereto, shall be solely for convenience of reference and shall not affect the meaning, construction, or effect hereof.

XI. NON-ASSIGNMENT OF AGREEMENT

The parties agree that there shall be no assignment of transfer of this Agreement, nor of any interests, rights or responsibilities herein contained, except as agreed to in writing.

XII. MODIFICATIONS TO AGREEMENT

There shall be no modifications to this Agreement, except in writing, and signed by all parties.

XIII. <u>INTEGRATION OF AGREEMENT</u>

The entire agreement of the parties is contained herein, and this Agreement supersedes all previous agreements, whether written or oral and all negotiations as well as any previous agreements presently in effect between the Provider and the county relating to the subject matter.

Both parties hereto having read and understood the entirety of this Agreement consisting of three (3) typewritten pages hereby affix their duly authorized signatures.

Josh Johnson, Chair Town of Campbell	Scott Schumacher, Village President Village of West Salem Kim Smith, Mayor City of Onalaska		
Bob Stupi, Chair Town of Holland			
Stan Hauser, Chair Town of Onalaska	Mitch Reynolds, Mayor City of La Crosse		
Timothy Candahl, Chair Town of Shelby	Patrick Barlow, Village President Village of Holmen		
Monica Kruse, Chair La Crosse County Board	Bill Waller, Administrator City of La Crescent		