City Hall  
City of La Crosse, Wisconsin  
400 La Crosse Street  
La Crosse, WI 54601  
Meeting Agenda - Final  
Board of Zoning Appeals  
Monday, May 15, 2023  
4:00 PM  
Council Chambers  
City Hall, First Floor  
The Board of Zoning Appeals meeting is open for in-person attendance and will also be conducted through video  
conferencing. The meeting can be viewed by visiting the Legislative Information Center  
meeting list.  
Call to Order  
Roll Call  
Annual Election of Vice Chair  
Notice is hereby given that the Board of Zoning Appeals will hear the following variance  
appeals in the Council Chambers on the first floor of City Hall, 400 La Crosse Street, at 4:00  
p.m. on Monday, May 15, 2023:  
An appeal regarding the regulation that the main garage doors of an accessory  
building may not exceed eight feet in height from the lowest floor elevation at a  
property known as 2206 15th Pl. S., La Crosse, Wisconsin.  
An appeal regarding the requirement to provide a 25 foot setback from the front  
property line at 2330 Mississippi St., La Crosse, Wisconsin.  
Property owners affected by an appeal may appear either in person, by agent, or by attorney, and may express  
their written approval of or objection to the granting of the appeal by filing a letter in the office of the City Clerk, or in  
lieu thereof may, upon oath, testify thereto. Written comments are encouraged to be submit in writing prior to the  
meeting and should be submitted to, dropped in a drop box outside of City Hall, or  
mailed to the City Clerk, 400 La Crosse Street, La Crosse WI 54601. Questions, call 608-789-7510.  
Dated this 2nd day of May, 2023  
Board of Zoning Appeals  
Nikki Elsen, Secretary  
Notice is further given that members of other governmental bodies may be present at the above  
scheduled meeting to gather information about a subject over which they have decision-making  
Requests from persons with a disability who need assistance to participate in this meeting should call  
the City Clerk's office at (608) 789-7510 or send an email to, with as  
much advance notice as possible.  
Board of Zoning Appeals Members:  
James Cherf, Douglas Farmer, Anastasia Gentry, Ryan Haug, William Raven, First Alternate (vacant),  
Second Alternate (vacant)