

City of La Crosse, Wisconsin

City Hall 400 La Crosse Street La Crosse, WI 54601

Meeting Minutes

Economic and Community Development Commission

Wednesday, March 22, 2023

3:00 PM

Council Chambers

Call to Order

Mayor Reynolds called the meeting to order at 3:00pm.

Rollcall

Present: 6 - Barb Janssen, Colin Walsh, Douglas Happel, Linda Lee, Mitch

Reynolds, Vicki Markussen

Excused: 1 - Gina Miller

Approval of Minutes from the February 22, 2023 meeting.

A motion was made by Janssen, seconded by Lee, that these minutes be APPROVED . The motion carried by voice vote.

Agenda Items:

23-0322 Consideration and possible action on Policy Updates- Guidelines for Property

Sales.

<u>Attachments:</u> 23-0322 - Staff Report Guidelines for Property Sales Policy

Updates.pdf

23-0322 - Guidelines for Property Sales Update Recap.pdf 23-0322 - Guidelines for Property Sales (full policy).pdf

A motion was made by Lee, seconded by Janssen, to AMEND and change the 90 days to 180 days and that it is required that the property remains on the market for sale during the term of the rental. The motion carried by voice vote.

A motion was made by Lee, seconded by Janssen, that this General Item be APPROVED AS AMENDED. The motion carried by voice vote.

23-0343 Quarterly update from The Parenting Place on their ARPA-funded childcare

agreement

23-0318 Review and approve adjustment to Retention and Recruitment grant

guidelines.

Attachments: Recruitment and Retention Grant: Proposed Changes

A motion was made by Janssen, seconded by Lee, that the Staff

Recommendations be APPROVED. The motion carried by voice vote.

23-0344

Review and approve loan terms for The Driftless Apartments and Townhomes.

(Note: The Committee and/or Council may convene in closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. 19.85(1)(e) to formulate & update negotiation strategies and parameters. Following such closed session, the Committees and/or Council may reconvene in open session.)

Attachments: Approval of TIF Loan – The Driftless Apartments, LLC

A motion was made by Janssen, seconded by Happel, that this item be APPROVED . The motion carried by voice vote.

Adjournment

Mayor Reynolds adjourned the meeting at 4:39pm.

Economic and Community Development Committee Members: Mayor Mitch Reynolds, Barb Janssen, Doug Happel, Colin Walsh, Linda Lee, Gina Miller, & Vicki Markussen.