

City of La Crosse, Wisconsin

City Hall 400 La Crosse Street La Crosse. WI 54601

Meeting Minutes

Floodplain Advisory Committee

Thursday, August 3, 2023 4:00 PM Grandad Room - City Hall Virtual via Zoom

Call to Order

Committee Chair Barb Janssen called the meeting to order at 3:59 PM.

Roll Call

Present: 5 - Barb Janssen, Bill Bosshard, Mac Kiel, Tamra Dickinson, Erin Goggin

Excused: 2 - Richie Schultz, Sharon Hampson

Approval of Minutes

Agenda Items:

<u>23-0884</u> Consideration and possible action on updated application for the

Floodplain Relief Grant program.

A motion was made by Kiel, seconded by Dickinson, that this General Item be

APPROVED . The motion carried by voice vote.

21-1681 FEMA Violations

Only 2 garage violations remain, but will be compliant by the end of August. The

Badger Hickey Park shelter will also be completed by the end of the year.

23-0909 Levee Accreditation Update

Sarah and Woody provided some visuals from the initial draft report on the levee feasibility study and discussed some of the recommendations laid out by Mead & Hunt. Also learned that the La Crosse River has had a 100 year flood event 3 times in the last 6 years, but we have never had flooding that comes close to resembling

what our maps suggest.

Adjournment

Committee Chair Barb Janssen adjourned the meeting at 4:39 PM.

PARTICIPATION LINK for Council Members and Department Heads and others needing to participate:

Join Zoom Meeting

https://cityoflacrosse-org.zoom.us/j/81480126215? pwd=emQyU09FYTFsM3IaRXI4ZWR4SHVOQT09

Meeting ID: 814 8012 6215

Passcode: 629782

One tap mobile

+13052241968,,81480126215# US

+13092053325,,81480126215# US

Dial in

• +1 305 224 1968 US

Meeting ID: 814 8012 6215

Notice is further given that members of other governmental bodies may be present at the above scheduled meeting to gather information about a subject over which they have decision-making responsibility.

NOTICE TO PERSONS WITH A DISABILITY

Requests from persons with a disability who need assistance to participate in this meeting should call the City Clerk's office at (608) 789-7510 or send an email to ADAcityclerk@cityoflacrosse.org, with as much advance notice as possible.

Committee Members:

Barb Janssen
Mac Kiel
Erin Goggin
Tamra Dickinson
Bill Bosshard
Richard Schultz
Sharon Hampson