

Meeting Minutes - Final

Neighborhood Revitalization Commission

6:00 PM	City Hall - Grandad Room
	6:00 PM

Members of the public will be able to attend the meeting in person in the Grandad Room at City Hall located at 400 La Crosse St in La Crosse or online via video conferencing with the links below.

Join Zoom Meeting: https://cityoflacrosseorg.zoom.us/j/82155464093pwd=aGw1NWRRUE4xM1RxajJxaTM0QkNU QT09

Meeting ID: 821 5546 4093 Passcode: 543969

Participate by phone: 1-312-626-6799

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 6:01 pm.

Roll Call

Present:	7 -	Ralph Geary, Jim Bagniewski, Larry Sleznikow, Jennifer Trost, Jessica
		Stanton, Sean Hurtubise ,Robert McDonnell
Excused:	1 -	Will Kratt
Absent:	3 -	Steve Nicolai, Vacant 1,Greg Clark

Approval of Minutes

Approval of the March 6, 2024 meeting minutes.

A motion was made by Geary, seconded by Bagniewski, that the minutes be approved. The motion carried by voice vote.

Agenda Items:

 24-0498
 Discussion: Off-street over-parking, review of previous NRC work on off-street parking requirements, options to eliminate or reduce off-street over-parking, community outreach role for each Commissioner.

CM Trost briefly discussed the documents attached to the agenda item. Bagniewski stated that he was impressed with what Minneapolis did by taking away parking requirements and increasing housing supply. Hurtubise said that he was intrigued by what Champaign, Illinois did based on population similarities. Stanton asked why the parking deregulation option with the boundary was around the campus area. She stated that in Minneapolis that was one of the first areas for parking regulations to be eliminated. Tim Acklin stated the boundary was based off feedback from developers and landlords.

Acklin stated there are requirements from financial lenders that require developers to provide parking. He also stated that many developers know that parking spaces make their developments more desirable. Bagniewski stated that one of the articles stated that the number of young people with drivers license is significantly down. He stated this could indicate the desire and ability for people to get places without a car.

CM Trost stated this ordinance would not prohibit the one-to-one ratio but would give people the choice.

Stanton stated that there may be people without access to other modes of transportation whose only option may be using a car. She asked if this could push them to move to a different surrounding municipality.

CM Goggin stated that tenants are not offered less rent if they don't take the available parking spot. CM Goggin stated she is worried that the streets are going to get congested.

CM Trost stated she asked a City of La Crosse Traffic Engineer and they stated they have no problem with cars parking in the streets.

Geary stated he was in favor of the different zones for off-street parking requirements.

CM Trost reminded Commissioners what the options are for deregulating off-street parking requirements.

Stanton stated that she was in favor of the ability for developers to reduce their off-street parking based on transit-oriented criteria (e.g. additional bike racks/storage). Bagniewski suggested moving forward with option two or three. Hurtubise stated that a combination of two and three might be interesting and a good place to start.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:10 pm.

Notice is further given that members of other governmental bodies may be present at the above scheduled meeting to gather information about a subject over which they have decision-making responsibility.

NOTICE TO PERSONS WITH A DISABILITY

Requests from persons with a disability who need assistance to participate in this meeting should call the City Clerk's office at (608) 789-7510 or send an email to ADAcityclerk@cityoflacrosse.org, with as much advance notice as possible.

Neighborhood Revitalization Commission Members:

CM Jennifer Trost, CM Larry Sleznikow, Jessica Stanton, Jim Bagniewski, Greg Clark, Ralph Geary, Robert McDonnell, Sean Hurtubise, Steve Nicolai, Will Kratt